The Executive Branch

The Executive Branch

Worksheet Description

The Executive branch of the U.S. government consists of the President, the Vice President, the Executive Office of the President, and the Cabinet. The Executive branch is responsible for governing the country.

The President is the leader of the country, as well as the Commander in Chief of the U.S. military. The president has responsibility for diplomatic relations with foreign countries, including signing treaties. The President also has the ability to pardon people for federal crimes for which they have been convicted and the power to veto laws made by the Legislative branch. If the President vetoes proposed legislation, it means he doesn’t agree with it, even though it has been passed by Congress. A bill that has been vetoes can still be come a law if two thirds of both houses of Congress vote to reverse the veto.

The Vice President is the next in line for President if the President cannot fulfill his or her duties at any time. The Vice President also casts tie-breaking votes in the Senate when needed and acts as a counselor/advisor to the President.

Many other people support the President by working in what is known as the Executive Office of the President (EOP). The EOP includes people who work in the White House, the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the National Security Council, the White House Communications and Press Secretary, and many assistants, junior staff, and clerks.